Sleep deprivation (or excess!) and cognitive dysfunction

This doesn’t have anything to do with medical librarianship, but this very short video discusses the apparent effect of sleep duration and quality on cognitive function. I personally feel like I have been sleep deprived for at least the last decade and a half, so this really hit home. I find myself searching for words more and more often (often knowing what the word starts with and how many syllables it has, but I’m still unable to grasp it). Lucky for me I keep constant access to an online thesaurus to help with my early “senior moments”. Interestingly, sleeping too much has the same effect…

I guess the point is to remember that finishing projects at 3 in the morning is not really beneficial, nor is storing up all of your sleep debt for marathon sleeping over the weekend. 

Examining how sleep quality and duration affect cognitive function as we age

2 thoughts on “Sleep deprivation (or excess!) and cognitive dysfunction

  1. From friends and family I know that sleep deprivation is part of a residency, and training, and numerous studies. To hear it from a doctor found a response editorial by Dr. G. Givaty mentions ” Inadequate sleep and long work hours are longstanding traditions in the medical profession and work schedules are especially intense for resident physicians….” Israel Med Assoc J. 2013 Dec;15(12):768-9. T

Leave a Reply

